

DURHAM COUNTY COUNCIL PLANNING (LISTED BUILDINGS AND CONSERVATION AREAS) ACT 1990, SECTION 69 EGGLESTON CONSERVATION AREA

NOTICE IS GIVEN under the provisions of the 1990 Act that Durham County Council, has determined that the area described in the Schedule to this Notice is an area of special architectural or historic interest, and that it is desirable to preserve or enhance its character or appearance. On 14th December 2011 the Council accordingly varied the boundary of the Eggleston Conservation Area originally designated in 1987, as described in the attached schedule.

The principle effects of the designation are as follows:

1. The Council is under a duty to prepare proposals to ensure the preservation or enhancement of the area.

2. Consent must be obtained from the Council for the demolition of any building in the area.

3. Special publicity must be given to planning applications for development in the area.

4. In carrying out any functions under the planning Acts (and in particular in determining applications for Planning Permission, Listed Building Consent and Conservation Area Consent) the Council and the Secretary of State are required to take into account the desirability of preserving or enhancing the character or appearance of the area.

5. Six weeks notice must be given to the Council before works are carried out to any tree in the area.

SCHEDULE

The following properties are included within the revised boundary of the Eggleston Conservation Area:

Bainbridge Farm, The Green, DL12 0AA Bayles Farm, DL12 0AL Beck Cottage, 3 Church Bank, DL12 0AH Beckside, Church Bank, DL12 0AH Beech Grove, The Green, DL12 0AB Beechgrove Cottage, DL12 0AB 1 - 4 Belle Vue, DL12 0AD Braeside, 2 Church Bank, DL12 0AH Carrisbrooke, 9 Church Bank, DL12 0AH 6 Church Bank, DL12 0AH 10 Church Bank, DL12 0AH Church Bank Cottage, 1 Church Bank, DL12 0AH Church Lodge, Church Bank, DL12 0AH Collingwood House, Collingwood Bank, DL12 9EQ The Cottage, 4 Church Bank, DL12 0AH Davron Lea, 4 Greenbank, DL12 0BQ The Drive, DL12 0AG 2 The Drive, DL12 0AG Eastwood View, 8 Church Bank, DL12 0AH Eggleston Bridge, Eggleston Hall, DL12 0AG Coach House Cottage, Eggleston Hall, DL12 0AG Coach House Offices, Eggleston Hall, DL12 0AG

Garden Flat, Eggleston Hall, DL12 0AG Garden House, Eggleston Hall, DL12 0AG North Flat, Eggleston Hall, DL12 0AG West Flat, Eggleston Hall, DL12 0AG Remains of Holy Trinity Church, Eggleston Hall, DL12 0AG Eggleston House, DL12 0AE Eggleston Village Hall, DL12 0AE Former Eggleston School site, DL12 0AE Glenelg, 5 Church Bank, DL12 0AH Gotnowtleft, 18 Greenbank, DL12 0BQ The Granary, DL12 0AQ The Grange, The Green, DL12 0AB Grange Cottage, DL12 0AB 1 Greenbank, DL12 0BQ 6-17 Greenbank (inclusive), DL12 0BQ Green View, DL12 0AL 1. 2 and 3 The Green, DL12 0AA Hawthorn House, 5 Greenbank, DL12 0BQ Heather Cottage, DL12 0AQ Helm Cottage, 5 Belle Vue, DL12 0AD High Lodge, DL12 0AG Hollywell, DL12 0AE Holmlea, 7 Church Bank, DL12 0AH Holy Trinity Church, Church Bank, DL12 0AH Lane End, 11 Church Bank, DL12 0AH Low Lodge, DL12 0AG Marland Lodge, Church Bank, DL12 0AH The Old Bottle Store, Church Bank, DL12 0AG The Old Post Office, 2 Greenbank, DL12 0BQ Orchard Cottage, Eggleston Hall, DL12 0AG Pine Lodge, DL12 0AQ Pine Tree Cottage, Church Bank, DL12 0AH Plum Tree Barn, DL12 0AH Red Garth, Church Bank, DL12 0AH Redwood House, DL12 0AQ Riding Lea, DL12 0AQ 1 and 2 Rose Cottage, DL12 0AQ Sandwood Cottage, 3 Greenbank, DL12 0BQ South View, Church Bank, DL12 0AH Stonemar, Church Bank, DL12 0AH The Sycamore, Church Bank, DL12 0AH Sycamore Cottage, 2a The Drive, DL12 0AG Tees Lodge, DL12 0AE Three Tuns Cottage, Church Bank, DL12 0AH Three Tuns Inn, Church Bank, DL12 0AH Wesleyan Methodist Church and Sunday School, DL12 0DB Westerley House, Church Bank, DL12 0AH West Garth, Church Bank, DL12 0AH Woodsike, The Drive, DL12 0AQ

A copy of the designated boundary map and further information on the Eggleston Conservation Area is available online at <u>www.durham.gov.uk</u> or by contacting the Heritage, Landscape and Design Team on 0191 383 4196 Stuart Timmiss, Head of Policy Planning Assets and Environment, Durham County Council